Friday, 15 August 2014

The Annual Bolton Allotments Awards (organised this year by the Association of Bolton Allotments Societies) were presented on Sunday 10th August at the Harpers Lane Allotments Site. Despite appalling weather conditions, over 100 people crammed into a marquee at the Harpers Lane Allotments Site to see Cllr Sufrana Bashir-Ismail (– Executive Member on Bolton Council for the group of services which include Allotments) present the Awards to the winners.

The results were as follows:-

FAIRHURST TROPHY – for the Best ‘Full-Size’ Plot (>200 square metres)
1st G Hamer (Longworth Rd. Allotments Society)

2nd D Urmston (Sapling Rd. Allotment Society)
3rd R & J Dyson (Sapling Rd Allotment Society.)

 FRED GREENHALGH TROPHY – for the best smaller plot (<200 square metres)
1st M Marsh (Nasmyth St Allotments Society)

2nd A Wood (Nasmyth St Allotments Society)

3rd J Dainty (Nasmyth St Allotments Society.)

NEW ENTRANTS TROPHY – for those who have held their plot for less than 12 months
1st E Hartigan and Roy Bottomley (Tonge Moor Rd Allotment Society.)

2nd Ann Armor (Tonge Moor Rd Allotment Society.)

3rd Harry Booth and Peter Sellers (Tonge Moor Rd. Allotment Society)

ABAS ROSEBOWL – for the Best (Council owned) Site in the Bolton Area

Dealey Rd. Allotments Society

 Terry Farrell, Treasurer of the Association of Bolton Allotment Societies (ABAS) said

‘Given that the Association had a late start  to the Competition – stepping in when the Council felt that due to resource constraints it could not run the awards this year – there was a very encouraging number of entries and all entries were of a high standard – “there were no losers”.

The Association aims to run the competition again in 2015.

Mr Geoff Hamer receives the Fairhurst Trophy from Cllr. Sufrana Bashir Ismail assisted by Mr George Wild (Secretary – ABAS)

Mrs Marsh accepts the Greenhalgh Trophy on behalf of her husband

Eileen Hartigan and Roy Bottomley receive the New Entrants Shield

No comments:

Post a comment